Author Topic: First attempt Osage Bow  (Read 1536 times)

Offline HorseApples

First attempt Osage Bow
« on: August 25, 2017, 05:49:26 pm »
Hi all, this is my first post but I have been lurking for a while and read hundreds of threads.  This is such an incredible forum. I have already learned so much from you all, and yet I know I have a long long way to go.

This is my first attempt at a bow and I think its firewood. Critical mistakes were definitely made :o. But I have enjoyed the learning process. 
Anyway, I would just like to know from you all if you think I am on the right track and if this bow is salvagable. 
(Either way I have  a 54 inch stave that I already started chasing rings on and I am not discouraged.)

This was intended to be for my 7 year old boy.
 Its 37" n2n. About 1" wide, tapered to 1/2".
I was going for the gull wing style, 5 curve. Bends in the handle.

1st mistake may have been choosing to make such a short bow for my first bow...
Second mistake was not ordering a stave, but a milled 2 x 4. Not sure why anyone would mill osage orange... But this sucker bought it. Lesson learned.
So Alas, there was grain run-off...  I probably should have quit there and started on a new stave, but I guess I am hard-headed.
However I shot about 200 arrows through this, drawing it to about 18" and it was a good little shooter. I was feeling alright about it, but it was too heavy for my son and I was afraid to remove any more material for the sake of making it to thin and take set.
THEN I heat treated it to straighten out some twist and achieve the gull wing style. And its now developing cracks and you can guess where ...

Here are my questions.
1) Does this thing look salvageable to you?  Would sinew-backing it be worthwhile? If I were to I deflex the limbs with heat, would that help?

2) Was it a mistake in the first place to make a bow this short  for a 7 year old kid using osage? It was still too heavy for him to shoot, and the limbs were getting kind of thin