Author Topic: Brief review / Szimeiszter Hungarian / Magyar Horse Bow  (Read 4666 times)

Offline legend

Brief review / Szimeiszter Hungarian / Magyar Horse Bow
« on: October 24, 2017, 11:22:59 am »
Hello All ,
For all I am fairly new to Archery and bows in general , I thought I would share my views on my new recent purchase , a wood  Tri laminated Hungarian style Horse bow made in Hungary by a bowyer called Istvan Szimeiszter . Unfortunately I have no photos to add yet , but hope to upload some soon . My first and main interest in archery was actually trying my hand at making bows , so I started with a simple Flat bow made from Greenhart belly with a hickory back , I am now progressing onto making a one piece Elm recurve bow which will be my Winter project .
I have recently been doing a great deal of research into the history of the Euro-Asiatic Horse bow which I find fascinating , and so decided after looking at different suppliers and makers to send for a Hungarian  / Magyar style all wood Tri-Lam bow from a bowyer and former competitive archer who lives in Hungary called Istvan Szimeiszter , whos bows can be viewed on his facebook page or via a website called "Hungary Craft" who I think act as his selling agent and are an absolute pleasure to do business with .
The bow arrived after being ordered and made within around two weeks and although I do not have a great deal of experience with bows I have had a lot of experience with weapons ( Army training) and also  I used to make some decent quality scandanavian knives , so I have a good idea of what constitutes a well made piece of kit !