Author Topic: shooting at deer,,,video added  (Read 5045 times)

Offline bradsmith2010

shooting at deer,,,video added
« on: October 25, 2017, 01:39:23 pm »
    I am not an expert,, and lots of guys have killed alot more deer than me with a bow,,
but I was lucky enough to hunt and shoot with two really great deer shots (Jerry Simmons,, and Byron Ferguson), and they taught me alot,,
on a good day,, I am a pretty good shot,, on a bad day and can shoot just awful,, and I am always working to be more consistant,, that being said,, I am going to give a few suggestions that have worked for me and hope some others will chime in and also ask questions,, I asked those guys a million questions,, they were always patient and willing  to expain there ideas too me,, Jerry kiiled the first deer in the first archersy season in Alabama in the 60's and killed over 200 deer,, and Byron needs no introduction,,
    Let me back up a bit,, Jerry used to say that to me,,,there are some key things that come to mind,,
both of them every day stressed how sharp my broad head should be,, and they both sharpened heads every day of the hunt,,
     no need to shoot unless its hair shaving sharp,,
     Jerry was not a trick shot,, but said no need to ever miss a deer its alot bigger than a rabbit,, :)
     they both like to hunt out of a tree stand and felt it was an extreme advantage with wind and sight,,
     they never hunted the same stand two days in a row, they would walk in put up the stand and hunt ,,,and bring it out after hunting,,
      they were both expert trackers,, if the blood trail was lost, they would track intuitively,, Byron found the first deer I ever shot with long bow with no blood trail,,, just walked too it,, I know that sounds unlikelly,, but I saw him do that another time as well,, he is just gifted,,
        ok about shooting,, they both liked to shoot a bow on the heavier side,, feeling like it gave them an advantage,,both had a long draw,, and good form,,