Author Topic: Juniper seasoning on the tree  (Read 4701 times)

Offline Utahknapper

Juniper seasoning on the tree
« on: December 14, 2017, 12:59:12 pm »
Hey y'all, new to the forum. I'm a flintknapper and an amateur primitive bowyer. I've searched through the Juniper threads past, but haven't quite found what I'm looking for. I'm almost finished with a soon-to-be rawhide-backed Juniper bow, and I've got the hankering to do a sinew-backed Juniper flatbow this coming year. I have been reading about growth-arrestment cuts on Juniper staves by Great Basin people, and want to try this "season on the tree" thing. My question is, does anyone have any practical experience with this? Or at least the knowledge of how long to let the stave season on the trunk? Thanks in advance,

Gary

Offline gfugal

Re: Juniper seasoning on the tree
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 03:33:51 pm »
Is that where you get the bow from the trunk/root/branch, without killing the tree? I think I saw something about that in a book I read once about bowmaking, can't remember which one. I've never tried it.

Greg,
No risk, no gain. Expand the mold and try new things.

Offline Utahknapper

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 05:04:14 pm »
Is that where you get the bow from the trunk/root/branch, without killing the tree? I think I saw something about that in a book I read once about bowmaking, can't remember which one. I've never tried it.
Yes, it is. It was published in a paper back in the 80s. I found it online, read through it, and now I wanna try it.

Offline jeffp51

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2017, 07:04:50 pm »
read the same paper, but I don't remember where.  Where do you live in Utah?  I am in Pleasant grove.

Offline loefflerchuck

• www.heartwoodbows.com
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2017, 07:24:47 pm »