Author Topic: G'day All  (Read 2348 times)

Offline Gunsmoke

• Teach me
G'day All
« on: January 02, 2018, 05:07:28 pm »
Well I couldn't see anyplace special to introduce myself so I figured this was as good a place as any.  I'm Steve a fitter and turner by trade and an armourer in the Australian Defence Force.  I'm currently in the RAAF though I am ex-army.  I've made a full circle where it comes to hunting tools.  I started out with an old Pearson compound when I was 13 it was 55# and I shot it barebow and boy did I shoot that bow.  I could look and shoot anywhere out to 40m with that thing.  When I turned 18 I sold all my archery gear and jumped headlong into firearms.  My joining the army didn't help my firearms addiction as I became an armourer and my entire world revolves around firearms.  Well I bought a Hoyt Buffalo in 2013 just before I deployed to the Middle East and over bowed myself.  Thought that a 55# recurve would be cool as I used to shoot a 70# compound.  NOPE.  Not only was it too heavy at 55# but my draw is basically 30" so I'm actually drawing 63#.  I swapped it for a Compund a year ago and shot that for 6 months or so.  Loved the instant results I got with that.  Got bored though so I swapped the guy back (he's a diehard compound shooter anyway).  I have to say I'm loving the recurves I had one built for me at a lower poundage, 47# at 29".  But it blew up, the replacement blew up as well.  Turns out that my bowyer and some others in his area have had a LOT of issues with their epoxy in the last year.  I have another 3rd bow being made as I type this.  It's such a shmae that they blew up as they shot SWEET before they died.  So he I am looking at self bows and contemplating making a board bow asap.  I've got a passion for DIY and everything primitive so here's to me learning a lot from you guys!

Steve
Hoyt Buffalo 63#@30"
Razor Custom Bows Hunter 47#@30"

Much to learn and loving every second of it!

Offline Trapper Rob

Re: G'day All