Author Topic: First Successful Build  (Read 3111 times)

Offline kbear

Re: First Successful Build
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2018, 06:00:04 pm »
You could indeed improve the tiller a little, at the cost of poundage of-course. What does it pull now after your corrections? I say, take it to the shoot as is, and be proud of what you have made.

Plenty more where that one came from, and they will only get better!

Offline AniKituahBowyer

« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2018, 06:05:01 pm »
Thanks!

Yeah, all the comments have been super helpful. In my day job, I'm a health disparities researcher in Indian Country, so I'm pretty used to constructive criticism and not too thin-skinned  :D

Feedback and critique are the only ways to improve!

To answer an earlier question, yes, I saw and shot some beautiful handmade bows in Talequah. It was awesome knowing that all those folks had made the bows they were shooting that day. When making 100 yard shots with a handmade bow of osage orange, and hitting a 4X4 target, it's pretty inspiring. They were what inspired me to try my hand at it.

I feel pretty lucky that it only took me 3 times to make one that didn't break right away! Especially since I tried some pretty tricky woods for my first attempts. The osage is much more forgiving, and easier to work with hand tools.  ;)

Offline AniKituahBowyer

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2018, 06:10:15 pm »
Thanks kbear!

It's currently drying from the generous coating of titebond III I am putting over the crow feathers. I'll test the draw weight again when that process is finished, as I expect it to act a little like a backing (not a ton, but some change, I suspect). Before the correction and decoration party, it was pulling #45 @28". I'm hoping it'll be around the same after all this is said and done. I didn't have to remove a ton of wood to correct the tillering, so we'll see. I do want it to be legal to hunt with, and in WA state, that's at least #40 @28.

Offline willie