Author Topic: First Stave  (Read 2164 times)

Offline BrewerMo

First Stave
« on: February 11, 2018, 12:28:18 pm »
I will start by saying...I have zero experience building bows..😄
I have been wanting  to give it a go for some time now but last fall a guy I play softball with ( who also has 0 experience) gave me a Hickory stave. He said he has had it for over a year. My first  question is... is this stave even usable? It's far from straight and it seems to me like it might not be thick enough. I also noticed that people remove the bark before seasoning their staves and the bark is still on this one. I did get to watch some guys work at Bois D Arc last year, but that's all the knowledge I have...😁
My goal is to build a set up to hunt whitetail.
Thanks in advance, Ryan

Offline osage outlaw

Re: First Stave
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2018, 12:37:47 pm »
How was it stored after it was cut?  If it was outside exposed to the elements I wouldn't use it. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2018, 12:38:35 pm »
Whether it is usable or not will depend on how it was treated off the stump. If it was kept in the dry, out of the weather and off the ground then, yes it should be fine.
 You will have to remove the bark. Do this carefully, especially around the knots. Under the bark is a brown cambium layer. You can lightly scrape it off or it may even come off as you tiller the bow. The wood directly under the cambium is going to be the back of your bow so be careful not to dig in to it. If the stave was cut during the growing season the bark and cambium should pop right off leaving a clean back with ridges along it's length. That is what you want for the back.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline High-Desert

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2018, 12:43:14 pm »