Author Topic: BBI lets try it again.  (Read 8173 times)

Offline JWMALONE

BBI lets try it again.
« on: February 16, 2018, 04:33:31 pm »
Well fellows if at first you don't succeed........ So ive got a 64 inch t2t bamboo backed ipe in the clamps. It will be 1 inch wide out 6 inches tapering to .5 inch tips.  Put some reflex in there, I kinda followed Pat b on his ALB lemon wood build. Lets see what happens.

https://imgur.com/a/PxYOI
Red Oak its the gateway wood!

Offline gfugal

Re: BBI lets try it again.
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 04:41:14 pm »
You sir have a lot of clamps. Is that a pretty stiff bamboo? I'm worried the Ipe will overpower it, but I'm no expert.
Greg,
No risk, no gain. Expand the mold and try new things.

Offline Badger

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 05:00:22 pm »
  That is a pretty safe design, at longer than 26" draw you might get a little stacking with the reflex coming right out of the handle. Careful tillering you can avoid it but you have to be careful not to get the area just outside the fades from bending too much.

Offline JWMALONE

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2018, 05:22:01 pm »
gfugal, the bamboo I worked down as recommended by others who have experience with this combo. !/8 inch in the handle to 1/16 at the tips. I went maybe a tad under, we are talking 64ths.
badger, I hope its a safe design. My actual draw is 26.25 so it should be ok. Thanks for the heads up on the fades.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2018, 05:44:25 pm by JWMALONE »

Offline gfugal

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2018, 05:24:33 pm »
ggugal, the bamboo I worked down as recommended by others who have experience with this combo. !/8 inch in the handle to 1/16 at the tips. I went maybe a tad under, we are talking 64ths.
badger, I hope its a safe design. My actual draw is 26.25 so it should be ok. Thanks for the heads up on the fades.
They would know more than me. So disregard what I said.
Greg,
No risk, no gain. Expand the mold and try new things.

Offline JWMALONE