Author Topic: Cauls  (Read 2283 times)

Offline Soggydog

Cauls
« on: April 26, 2018, 05:47:51 pm »
Out of curiosity, how do y'all go about making you're cauls for bending limbs? I've got a couple of bows that are about ready to get some bends in them, but I'm wondering if there's a way to make cauls that's cheaper than purchasing a new board for every uniquely reflexed bow. On the other hand, has anyone figured out an adjustable caul that can be used for a variety of bends?

Additionally, does a limb need to be fully supported by the caul, or can you get away with just a few contact points?

My apologies if any of these are obvious questions, but I'm fairly new to this and couldn't find any information in the volume of TBB I have access to! 

Offline Nasr

Re: Cauls
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2018, 05:59:58 pm »
 well i basically glued some scrap plywood until i reached a good thickness about 2inches and used a tin can or bucket to get the radius of bend that i am looking for. Cut it out with a band saw and sanded it down cut some holes that i can put my clamps in and thats it :). its really simple stuff.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2018, 06:15:52 pm »
I made one following Gary Davis instructions on his DVD.   I made another one the same way with a bit more reflex.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2018, 06:31:51 pm »
I made two cauls. I use one for tips that is 34" long and has a reflex the same as the second one that is 44" long and center lines up with center of handle.

I first do tips on short one. Then put center of bow and center of caul lined up and straightening, heat treat and put reflex in both limbs.

This way I can do all kinds of different length bows with these two cauls.

Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2018, 06:39:40 pm »