Author Topic: can cherry be used?  (Read 5443 times)

Offline kid bow

can cherry be used?
« on: April 30, 2018, 10:43:05 am »
i have a straight peice of cherry wood about 50 inches long. can it be used as a core for a horn bow? I'm looking to get something pretty high up in weight close to 75lb draw weight wise. also I still need to find a pair of horn that can be used. also I'm assuming you sinew back before you put the horn on the belly side of the bow? I'm pretty new so I'm trying to get started in it. do you tiller before you put the sinew on and then re tiller the bow once you've got the sinew on their and then do the same when the horn is applied? you can tell I'm new to this so I figured id ask the experts before I do anything stupid.
i need nothing but my old bow and arrows.

Offline Aaron H

Re: can cherry be used?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2018, 11:33:56 am »
If it's Asiatic horn bows you are interested in building, then do yourself a favor and buy a copy of Adam Karpowicz's book. It is a very comprehensive book for building compounds of all kinds.

Offline NorthHeart

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2018, 02:04:22 am »
If it's Asiatic horn bows you are interested in building, then do yourself a favor and buy a copy of Adam Karpowicz's book. It is a very comprehensive book for building compounds of all kinds.

Ive been looking for a paper copy of this book in English.  Google search just confused me more.  Does any one know if a hard copy is available anywhere online?

Kid bow hope im not hi-jaking your thread but this book will really help us both :OK

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2018, 02:33:18 am »
There are no hard copies available in English, I had to get an electronic copy but my boss let me print it off in work for free - she's a great boss!   :)

Offline Aaron H

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2018, 08:42:51 am »