Author Topic: Loop size  (Read 1834 times)

Offline DC

Loop size
« on: June 14, 2018, 04:40:05 pm »
Just curious, how big do you make the loops on your strings? I make mine about 1", measured on the inside with calipers.

Offline Hamish

Re: Loop size
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 06:00:52 pm »
DC, That sounds right for most longbows. If I'm making a double looped Flemish, I make the lower on a bit smaller, it doesn't need to be moved in the stringing process, and the tighter loop helps keep the string on the bow when its unbraced.

For many historically accurate Indian bows you would need to widen the loop because of the wider tips.

Short recurves with siyahs and string bridges  are usually made with large loops. I have little actual experience with those designs, but I assume the larger loop functions better. Someone who knows better will chime in.

Offline DC

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2018, 06:52:49 pm »
I'm not talking about 4" loops for siyahs, just your regular bow. I know I can make them any size I want but I was just curious what most guys use.

Offline Mo_coon-catcher

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2018, 07:08:33 pm »
I’ve never measured. I make it to match te now. I’ll twist up the upper loop until it’ll just start slipping down the limb and the lower loop until it slips onto the nock. Once I stretch the string and everything settles they are just loose enough to slide freely. So the loop size changes bow to bow.

Kyle

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2018, 08:06:28 pm »
  I make mine the same as you DC, they stretch out just a tad when braced. I don't measure but when I braid about 2" I fold it over and make the loop.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2018, 08:22:12 pm »
As small as I can.  Just enough to slide down the limb when the bow is unbraced.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline DC

« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2018, 08:52:15 pm »