Author Topic: Bamboo, the one that got away  (Read 1313 times)

Offline Eric Krewson

Bamboo, the one that got away
« on: June 21, 2018, 03:19:36 pm »
I have been cutting bamboo out of a patch across town for 15 years, great stuff, giant timber bamboo.

The old man that sold the bamboo to me had died so I lost access. I had heard that the patch had been leveled but today I noticed a Craig's list ad that said "bamboo all sizes come get all you want", the patch in the pictures looked familiar so I gave the guy a call. Turns out it was the same patch I had been cutting out of, he had indeed pushed all the bamboo in a pile but told me I could salvage any I wanted.

I drove over for a look, it was heart breaking, lots of standing dead, some pretty big and a huge pile of cut stuff, most had been out in the weather too long. I did find a couple of trunks that were in good shape, dry on the sunny side and green on the underside, no mold. What I go was about 4" in diameter. Some of the badly weathered stuff was every bit of 7" in diameter, dang.

The stuff was sprouting up everywhere, the guy also said dig all the roots you want but I am too old to start a patch anywhere.

Here is what I salvaged, all very sound and partially seasoned.

Offline Bob Barnes

Re: Bamboo, the one that got away
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2018, 03:27:15 pm »
what a shame...glad you saved some...   :OK
Seems like common sense isn't very common any more...

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2018, 03:38:03 pm »
Here is a picture of the bamboo before it was pushed in a pile, some of the big stuff is 18"-20" between the nodes.

Here is the patch before it was completely cut;

« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 03:42:18 pm by Eric Krewson »

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2018, 04:33:44 pm »