Author Topic: Same spine but different weights?  (Read 3452 times)

Offline DuBois

Same spine but different weights?
« on: August 28, 2018, 01:58:51 pm »
If I have shafts of same spine but different weights can I adjust with diffent weight points? How will that affect shooting pattern when I shoot the set? I am not very experienced with making my own arrows but getting going lately and this is what I am encountering.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Same spine but different weights?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2018, 02:30:11 pm »
How much difference in weight are you talking about.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline DuBois

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2018, 03:00:14 pm »
30-40 gr except each set has one about 50 light. Working on mid 40's poundage sets.

Could go 100 gr some, 125 gr others, and light hunting points on lightest ones?

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2018, 05:45:08 pm »
You have to keep in mind that changing the tip weight will change the dynamic spine so you will be juggling a bit. I made a "matched" set once and to bring the weights in line I put short pieces of solder in each end of the arrow(bamboo). It seemed to work but I have no idea if it was right or not.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2018, 08:27:41 pm »
I'd set them up all the same and see how they shoot. Pick the ones that shoot the best for your regular arrows and make fluflus or stumping arrows with the others. At short ranges you might not notice much difference.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline ntvbowyer1969

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2018, 11:23:42 pm »