Author Topic: Need help on Tip overlays.  (Read 4131 times)

Offline Morgan

Need help on Tip overlays.
« on: September 04, 2018, 08:38:42 am »
I need help with the ins and outs of tip overlays. I have never done overlays before but am in a position where I would like to use them and they would be beneficial to the bow as well. I have seen overlays on here where the string groove is at or past the tips of the bow. This is the type I would like to put to use. The bow tips on the type overlay I’m talking about are ground down at an angle .
Is there a specific angle the tips need to be? Any input or advice would be very much appreciated. I’m approaching final tiller on the bow I’m working on, I have no nocks cut and the tips are rather skinny by my standard. To this point I’ve tight wrapped string at the tips for tiller string nocks, everything I’ve done to this bow is with the intention of using this type of overlay, now I’m to the point where I need the actual nocks to finish. The bow is pushing the working limit short and I need the string very close to the end of the tips. My fear is that I’ll sand the tips at an angle, glue the overlays on and the limb will split down the middle. Fear of the unknown you know? Overlays will be whitetail antler tine.
Any input is greatly appreciated... angle of cut, how far out towards (or past) the actual tips I can cut the nocks, etc.
Thank you

Offline leonwood

• Leonwood Bows
Re: Need help on Tip overlays.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 08:47:02 am »
I think you might be overthinking this a bit. The angle you grind the tip flat to accept the overlay is not that important. The glue area is. Make sure you have enough flat surface to glue the tip on and you will be fine. There are guys who glue static overlays on the tips so just go for it!

Offline backtowood B2W

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2018, 09:13:27 am »
also make the surface  a bit rough and absolutely clean
i work with epoxy and it works fine for me

Offline aaron