Author Topic: A lot of set??  (Read 1439 times)

Offline A

A lot of set??
« on: September 06, 2018, 12:30:46 pm »
Hi, I'm new at bowery and currently working on my first full-length yew longbow (made self-bows of elm, ash, oak and hickory before). The problem is that it has already taken 6" of set at 18" draw. The stave had 3" of natural deflex in one limb, but I thought I might be able to correct it with a bit of heat bending. I hadn't really tried heat bending before though, so I ended op just soaking it with a lot of sunflower oil and reducing the set with about 1", which promptly sprang back, probably because I needed to take the bow inside before the night dew (is that what it's called? I'm from Scandinavia so English is not my primary language). The stave is 1 1/4 x 1 inch at the handle and I'm aiming at 35# 27". The wood has been seasoning for about 1,5 year.

Can anyone share some experience on whether another go for heat treating or other kind of correction will be able to make the bow at least shootable?

A

Offline aaron

Re: A lot of set??
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 01:19:08 pm »
Have you ever drawn it past 35 lbs?
Sounds like it's plenty wide.
What diameter was it during seasoning? That is, did you season as a big log or a smaller stave?
six inches is ALOT- nothing in your post seems to suggest this would happen. I mean, it sounds like you are doing it right.

set generally comes from too much moisture or bending with too much force.
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline Badger

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2018, 01:31:56 pm »
   I would bet that you have all the bending right in the handle. 6" is far past acceptable amounts. Is this low elevation yew?? What is your ring count

Offline Weylin

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2018, 01:40:09 pm »