Author Topic: Steam bending: to oil or not  (Read 3358 times)

Offline tacticalboxing

Steam bending: to oil or not
« on: September 15, 2018, 10:25:41 am »
I am at the stage at my bow build where I want to steam bend some deflex and reflex into it. This is my first time so I have researched it before trying it but one question in particular was perplexing: many have said to oil it up, some even saying to use bear grease, etc before steaming it and it will steam better, other say not to with steam but  to do so with dry heat.

At first I figured, "Hey the extra step may be a little more work but why not to maximize my chance for success." But then I thought, hmm, water and oil indeed do not mix, so what if the oil acted as a barrier to the steam getting it? Still some insist that the oil helps the heat permeate the wood, but really is that true?
I would love to hear what some experienced steamers and benders think about all of this. Please help.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2018, 10:33:10 am by tacticalboxing »
To be a total warrior, master hands as well as weapons,
and body as well as spirit.

Offline Dances with squirrels

Re: Steam bending: to oil or not
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2018, 11:06:38 am »
I've bent bow wood with steam or a heat gun hundreds of times and never used oil ONCE... and never ONCE wished that I had. That tells me it's unnecessary, and I won't unnecessarily soak my bow wood with oil. I try to abide by the oft-given advice 'wet heat for wet wood, dry heat for dry wood'... and while I don't adhere to it 100%, maybe that helps keep me out of trouble.

When I steam selfbow staves, I make sure the bow's backs and ends have 2 good coats of shellac on them. With dry heat, when the wood is dry, often there's no shellac left on it, and it doesn't seem to matter one bit. Practically no issues in 20 years of bending stuff.