Author Topic: Band saw help  (Read 1708 times)

Offline osage outlaw

Band saw help
« on: September 17, 2018, 08:19:30 pm »
I picked up this metal cutting band saw at an auction Saturday for $40.  I thought that was a good deal.  It appears to be in good condition except for a blown out tire.  The motor works fine.  When I turn it on the blade slowly walks off the drive wheel.  I tried adjusting the blade guides but that didn't help.  I can't seem to find the adjustment that tilts the upper wheel to align the blade.  I messed around with the blade tension also.  Does it need to be tighter than a wood band saw?  I have very little experience with horizontal band saws.  I noticed there wasn't any rubber tires on the wheels.  Is that normal for metal cutting saws?  Any help or advice would be appreciated. 

I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline osage outlaw

Re: Band saw help
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 08:20:40 pm »
My plan is to make a table for it and use the saw to cut out knife blanks. 

Offline Ed Brooks

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 08:33:02 pm »
We have one at work. Tomorrow I’ll check it out and let you know what I find.
It's in my blood...

Centralia WA,

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 09:22:48 pm »
Thanks Ed

Offline dylanholderman

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2018, 09:53:06 pm »
we have similar saws where i work.

no rubber on the wheels is normal for a metal cutting saw.
i'm not sure about the blade tension compared to a wood saw as i don't get to play with big woodcutting band saws too often  :'(

try taking the wheel that's giving you trouble and completely taking it off of the machine, and inspect the shaft it sits on and the bushing inside of the wheel.