Author Topic: Soap making tutorial  (Read 7750 times)

Offline Mesophilic

Soap making tutorial
« on: October 29, 2018, 05:09:42 pm »
Thought I'd do a soap making tutorial.  I know this would be better with pics, but its my first soap tutorial and I don't have any right now. 

I've been making homemade soap for about 10 years.  The only soap we buy is dish soap and laundry soap.  It all started when I was working a catering gig cooking 50 prime rib roasts in one night, and dumped buckets of fat into a collection bin.  I thought that there has to be something I can do with this fat besides dump it so I kept a couple gallons and took it home.  The first batches were greasy and awful, but as with most things practice helps alot.

Your calculations will determine the outcome more than anything.  Lye is the catalyst and saponifies the fatty acids in oils in to soap, too much lye and your soap remains caustic and harsh on your skin, too little and the soap turns out greasy.  You want just a slight amount of unconverted oils in your soap, this is called "super fat".  When I calculate I skip the super fat and set it at zero.  I want the remaining oils to be good oils and not my base oils, i.e. avacado oil, coconut oil, olive oil.  Whereas my base oils tend to be beef and pork fat.   Super fat oils will be the oils left on your skin after you wash, and personally, I'd rather they be different oils than my base oils but each to their own. 

You can use any organic oil or fat.  Fats that come from animal or vegetable sources, petroleum products are out as they are not converted by the lye.

I use real lye, sodium hydroxide but potassium hydroxide also works though the calculations are slightly different.  You can make your own potassium hydroxide from wood ashes, but that is a separate subject.