Author Topic: Hickory board bow.  (Read 3288 times)

Offline Dakotian05

Hickory board bow.
« on: November 08, 2018, 09:52:45 am »
Well, it's certainly been awhile. I got back from teaching abroad in Ecuador for a year and found myself between jobs and places to live. While "living in my parent's basement" as they say, I found my old shop more or less how I left almost 10 years ago and this message board....pretty much unchanged in that time as well. I decided to pick up an old hobby. I'm an adult now so I benefit from the patients of one and wanted to make up for all the times I cut corners as a teenager. The end results took a lot longer, but are much more satisfying. Here's the result. This is 66 inches tip to tip and about 55#. This is my first time really working with hickory, it's truly is an amazing wood. The riser is carved from an apple branch and the tips are IPE that I still had laying around. It's a fairly basic project, but it's a pleasure to shoot.
Enjoy the pictures, I'll be curious to see how many user names I still recognize.

~Andrew

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Hickory board bow.
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2018, 10:36:12 am »
Welcome back, Andrew. The tiller looks pretty good to me. Well done.   :OK
 How's your sister, all grown up I guess.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2018, 10:53:43 am »
Andrew,
You will find a big bunch of newbies, as well!  The "bow bug" has been busy biting lots of folks of all ages.  Looks like you haven't lost the techniques.  Welcome back!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2018, 12:20:30 pm »
Welcome back. Bow looks great!
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline rps3

« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2018, 01:17:25 pm »