Author Topic: Juniper bow build questions  (Read 1677 times)

Offline burtonridr

Juniper bow build questions
« on: November 14, 2018, 04:37:59 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm getting ready to start another bow. I've got a few rocky mountain juniper logs that I just cut about a week ago. I've never worked with juniper before and could use suggestions on a limb profile to get a good hunting bow built for a relative. I think the logs are about 60" long, I will get exact measurements tonight. The person I'm building the bow for has a 29.5" draw length, I would like to get 40-45lb out of it. Any suggestions on what I limb profile to use?

From what I have read so far, it is a good idea to back juniper bows? I would like to maintain the natural wood color and texture. I've looked at white silk, but man it is expensive stuff, and difficult to find locally. I read tissue paper works, would it be ok to back with white tissue paper?

Does juniper do ok with a quick dry method? how about the rest of the log splits, will they be ok just removing the bark, sealing the ends and placing in our crawlspace?
Offgrid mtn living

Offline Ryan Jacob

Re: Juniper bow build questions
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 06:31:09 am »
Well, the only thing I can say is that you may need to make a bendy handled bow to accomodate that draw length. Also, if you want to keep the wood color and texture, why not just back it with wood, like say, maple?

Offline burtonridr

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2018, 07:07:07 am »
Thanks for the reply ryan.

Ok I think I can do the bend through handle. The maple backing, I've never done it before but it seems pretty advanced. Does it require special tools? can I just go buy a stick of super thin maple somewhere and clamp it on while it dries? Is it that simple?