Author Topic: First time with sinew. Questions *UPDATE  (Read 3617 times)

cool_98_555

First time with sinew. Questions *UPDATE
« on: December 09, 2018, 11:06:16 am »
Hi guys,

I have a few questions regarding sinew.  I've never tried applying sinew before, but always wanted to try it.  I have an osage bow that is 64" long, stiff handle, and 1 1/4" at the fades with a straight taper to 3/8" tips.  If I am using back sinew, how many do I need for this bow?  I have been told 8 or 9, but I wanted to ask all of you.  Also, on this type of bow, is 2 or 3 layers even necessary?  Can I get away with 1 or would you recommend 2 or 3?  And lastly, is there a type of glue that works best or can I use something like titebond 3?

Sorry for the many questions here, but I just want to be sure.  Here are the questions in numbered format if you like that better.  Thanks for the help guys!

Bow:  64" ttt, 1 1/4" at fades with a straight taper to 3/8" tips.  Draw length is 29".
1) How many back sinews do I need for this bow?
2) Can I get away with 1 layer or do I need 2 or 3?
3) What type of glue is best?  Would titebond 3 work and be just as good as liquid hide glue?
« Last Edit: December 18, 2018, 12:10:03 pm by cool_98_555 »

Offline osage outlaw

Re: First time with sinew. Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 11:51:58 am »
For best results use hide glue.  Not the tight bond hide glue, get some unflavored knox gelatin.  It's cheap, easy to use, and works great.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline bradsmith2010

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 12:15:36 pm »
lots of varying opinions on the sinew bow, and  really it depends on the desired result,,
sinew varys in size, so weighing it will give you a better idea on how much to put on,,
I will just tell you what I would do,,