Author Topic: Native American inspired horn bow  (Read 17675 times)

Offline bosko

Native American inspired horn bow
« on: December 10, 2018, 08:55:29 am »
Hi, here is my first attempt in a native american horn bow. This bow is made of water buffalo horn, because it is way cheaper then bighorn sheep horns and I am no expert, so I did not want to buy expensive sheep horns and maybe ruin them in a first attempt to make this kind of a bow. So I had some water buffalo horns at home, because in the past I made some turkish style horn bows and I decided to give it a go  ;D

The bow is 25" long NTN and 26" tip to tip. It is a bit short, I know, but one of the horns had a severe damage, so I had to cut it off. I believe it has about 55 g or maybe 60 g of dry sinew on it, without the wrappings. The horn is 5mm thick almost all the way and 1 and 1/6" wide at the handle and little less then half an inch at the tip. The handle is a short splice with two horn plates, one on the back and one on the belly and 1 rivet. Because it is my first attempt, some advice from the experts in this community would be much appreciated, thanks in advance. Now comes the hardest part, waiting about 6 months for the sinew to season. Fingers crossed that it won´t break and hopefully become a shooter in 7 or so months.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2018, 09:18:27 am by bosko »

Offline DC

Re: Native American inspired horn bow
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 10:15:06 am »
Short--but cool :D :D

Offline ohma2

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 11:50:05 am »
What kind of draw length and weight do you expect from it ?

Offline bosko

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2018, 11:58:46 am »
Thanks DC

Ohma 2: about 15" of draw length, maybe a bit less and I hope for about 35 - 40# of draw weight.

Offline Aaron H

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2018, 01:45:48 pm »
Well it should be very stable with that profile, length and width.  How did you go about glueing the sinew to the horn?

Offline bosko