Author Topic: Newbie Questions About Wood Arrows  (Read 6516 times)

Offline KristinB83

Newbie Questions About Wood Arrows
« on: February 19, 2019, 06:07:27 pm »
Hello, everyone,

I'm pretty brand new to traditional archery/traditional bowhunting and am just starting to dive into primitive archery/primitive bowhunting. I've been practicing shooting and getting my form down since Fall 2018 with a couple of recurve bows (a 22# Snake and a 58" 32# @24" Ragim Matrix J. takedown; the 22# bow is for getting my form right and the 32# is for slowly building my muscles up so I can shoot at 40#, the minimum draw weight for hunting deer with traditional bows in NC). I have taken my state's hunters' ed course and I have my hunting license for the first time ever. I'm hoping to go on my first hunts (starting with small game) this fall/winter, if I'm ready by then.

I discovered this board because a lot of the old posts on here were answering my Google questions about building wood arrows using goose and other feathers, traditional fletching with deer sinew, etc. I recently decided to take the plunge and try to make some of my own wood arrows, since the carbon arrows I use for practice are expensive and I like wood arrows better. I spoke to someone at 3 Rivers Archery and they suggested I get shafts that are 5/16" in diameter and 30-35# in spine and to cut them to around 27". They also suggested 125 gr points. I am a shortie (only 5' tall) and my draw length is only 23" and 1/4, which is why I think they suggested those parameters. But I am really a total newbie at this.