Author Topic: Noob ELB or pyramid bow  (Read 1895 times)

Offline Nightstalker

Noob ELB or pyramid bow
« on: April 17, 2019, 06:59:10 pm »
Hi, P.A. folks. I'm quite new to bow craft and archery in general as well as the forum. Im seeking advice to any that will kindly divulge any. I've made one bow so far. Ran easily over 250 shots through it. 72" tip to tip roughly 35lb at 28". Shoots good I guess, never shot a bow till i "finished" this one. I attempted to make a pyramid bow and.. I failed lol. My good bow was made from a piece of red oak lowes lumber as I have no access to hickory or wood to make staves. The attempted pyramid was lowes oak, 2-1/2 wide at the fades, 3/4 wide tips, 1/2" thick limbs. What i can't seem to figure out is how it's so light compared to my good, narrower bow. Its 72" t2t  made from 1-1/2 oak. Limbs are approx same thickness. So my question to those is there any good parameters to go by for a heavy weight (60-80lb) bow. I've read n read forums till I'm scatterbrained. I don't really know what's good info as in based this pyramid of some dimensions I gathered in a forum somewhere. I don't have any tools except a pocket sureform, 4 way file, 6" plane. Lookin to get a table bandsaw soon. Thanks to all in advance. Apologies if this is difficult to wade through

Offline Hrothgar

Re: Noob ELB or pyramid bow
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2019, 07:14:15 pm »
You probably can't expect to get a 60-80 lb. bow from a red oak board. Your dimensions sounded good, maybe have a slight taper rather than 1/2" thickness the whole length. Was the pyramid bow a 'bend through the handle' design?
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2019, 07:46:09 pm »
Welcome to PA, Nightstalker. Can you post pics of both bows, broken or not? That will help us determine whether it was the board or the design that failed.