Author Topic: Recurve, setback, sinew. My first time with any.  (Read 3277 times)

Offline MattZA

• Formerly MattTheClueless
Recurve, setback, sinew. My first time with any.
« on: May 19, 2019, 03:01:36 pm »
Hi all,

I was hoping you could give some tillering input here before I go any further. I've never tried this shape before, nor have I ever used sinew. This has both.

Any thoughts on where to remove wood? I'll definitely provide more pictures when I've got a second opinion, and cleaned it up some. It still has gross bits of linen everywhere that I'm scared the sinew might raise.

*Edit* As you can see, the sinewing job is clearly my first attempt.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 19, 2019, 03:32:51 pm by MattTheClueless »
Unprofessional bowyer. Johannesburg, South Africa.

Offline jeffp51

Re: Recurve, setback, sinew. My first time with any.
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2019, 03:26:29 pm »
your left limb is significantly stiffer than the right

Offline MattZA

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2019, 03:30:34 pm »
Thanks Jeff.

I didn't realise it was so significantly stiffer. To my inexperienced eye it was a tiny bit stiffer, but that's all. I haven't really drawn it too much. I'm nervous the tiller is far too out and it snaps.

I'll definitely adjust it.

Offline PatM

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2019, 03:49:29 pm »
your left limb is significantly stiffer than the right

Have to see it drawn with the arrow nocked correctly to really get the whole picture.

Offline burchett.donald

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2019, 04:08:00 pm »
  +1 PatM, If the right limb in the picture is the upper it may be near perfect drawn in hand with the string angle changing...
                                                                                                                                                                                   Don
   Yank that bow back and lets see a full or partial draw with proper hand and nock placement...