Author Topic: When to pull to full intended draw weight?  (Read 8784 times)

Offline TimberTinker

When to pull to full intended draw weight?
« on: August 03, 2019, 05:35:39 pm »
Hi all,

New aspiring bowyer here.  I'm just starting out and I'm on my second board bow thus far. 

First bow story:

The first was a 64" red oak bow from a 2x1x6 board and it catastrophically failed around the fades at roughly 30 lbs.  Limb snapped clean off and sounded like a gunshot!  Luckily I was 20 ft away from the tillering rack.  I'm pretty sure the limbs were too narrow at only 1.5" and the design probably wasn't right with a thick handle section so no bend there and I had width taper start about half way down the limb and I was also tapering thickness.  I was trying to achieve about 40-45# weight... never made it there.

Second bow story:
Second is a 70" red oak bow from another 2x1x6 board using the same design minus the thick handle section so it's bendy through the handle.  It's looking quite nice but I'm afraid to draw past 30# given the first bow's fate.  Problem is I think I'm almost to a finished taper, and I haven't pulled to the full 40-45# nor have I pulled it to 28".  I've only pulled to about 33# at about 22" in fear of another failure and I'm pretty sure it's too late to try for 45# at this point without risking another failure.  I'm probably going to finish this one off at a safe 30#.