Author Topic: Arrow Nock help needed  (Read 3083 times)

Offline TimberTinker

Arrow Nock help needed
« on: September 21, 2019, 11:36:58 pm »
Hey All,

Not sure if this is the right forum for this but I need help figuring out the right size arrow nock.
First off I'm relatively new to all this.

I made my first board bow, fitted with 14 strand b50 string.  The strands are 7x7 Flemish twist.  I bought some arrows and the nocks fit absolutely perfectly on my bow string without a serving.  I served it with .018 string and now the nocks are way too tight.

I like the string setup, want to keep it served for sure, any size serving will render the nocks on these arrows too tight since they are perfect with no serving.  I really don't want to go less strands on the string and so replacing the nocks seems the way to go... however I cannot find ANYTHING to help finding the right size nock for different size strings.

Anyone have this secret info?

Thanks a bunch in advance!!

Offline Knoll

• Mikey
Re: Arrow Nock help needed
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2019, 07:13:53 am »
What is pull weight of your bow? I use 5 lb/strand to determine # of strands for a string. Could fewer strands be used?
... alone in distant woods or fields, in unpretending sproutlands or pastures tracked by rabbits, even in a bleak and, to most, cheerless day .... .  I suppose that this value, in my case, is equivalent to what others get by churchgoing & prayer.  Hank Thoreau, 1857

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2019, 07:30:56 am »
With plastic nocks you can put them in hot water for a short time and spread the ears apart so they will fit the string.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2019, 08:29:51 am »