Author Topic: carving?  (Read 1662 times)

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
carving?
« on: October 02, 2019, 08:32:59 pm »
So, I keep seeing peoples carvings and i really want to try, like its on of those burning desires that was just like bow making and flintknapping, but im a horrible artist. and when I say horrible I mean i can barely draw a straight line. I am the king of stickman!   ;)       

How can i try or what should i work on to get to the point where i can actually see how ill do something? Thanks!
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: carving?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2019, 09:42:42 pm »
I took a carving class at our local community college. We carved simple pine figures but the instructor showed us how to get started and gave good instructions as we proceeded. You could see if there is a local wood carving club or check out the library for How To books. I'm sure you could find instructions on You Tube.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2019, 11:32:31 pm »
There should be a Woodcraft store in your area, but their classes are expensive.  For real basic instruction, pick up the Boy Scout merit badge book, and get a basic set of carving tools.  I recommend a carving glove as well -  Kevlar is harder to cut than flesh!  Trust me!  Been there, done that!  Remember, Patience, Grasshopper!  Have fun making shavings, they are. Great. Fire  starters! >:D (lol)
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2019, 07:18:39 am »