Author Topic: Sanding out scratches  (Read 2012 times)

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
Sanding out scratches
« on: November 09, 2019, 07:51:31 am »
Hi, all.  I hunted some pretty gnarly country this year, and put a few scratches on the back of this bow.  Nothing deep.  Is that a worry?  I've heard horror stories of self-bows coming apart with the slightest damage to the back, but this black locust is pretty tough stuff.  Since archery season ended, I've been shooting a lot with no obvious problems. 

The guy who made this bow said I should "sand with 220 grit so you can take it down slowly.  The scratch doesn't have to totally disappear.  Then seal with whatever was used before."  I am really, really worried about compromising a ring and ruining the bow.  I have no experience building bows, so I doubt I'd know if I did until it broke.  I'm wondering if I should just leave well enough alone.  What do you think?

Thomas
Thomas
Lander, Wyoming
"The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.
Travel too fast, and you miss all you are traveling for."
~Louis L'Amour

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
Re: Sanding out scratches
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2019, 08:00:46 am »
Here's the worst one.  I think the flash makes it look worse than it really is.

Here are some more minor ones.

Thomas
Lander, Wyoming
~Louis L'Amour

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2019, 08:27:14 am »
Black locust probably isn't quite as 'delicate' as osage but I wouldn't sand too much. A possible solution would be to apply a single layer of thin satin or linen with TB ll or TB lll.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2019, 08:44:50 am »
Black locust probably isn't quite as 'delicate' as osage but I wouldn't sand too much. A possible solution would be to apply a single layer of thin satin or linen with TB ll or TB lll.