Author Topic: Red elm hollow limb design. 30#@26"  (Read 1700 times)

Offline Josh B

Red elm hollow limb design. 30#@26"
« on: October 13, 2019, 01:21:20 pm »
This is a piece of red elm that I harvested in Illinois 7 or 8 yrs ago.  The sapwood got damaged in transit so I had to chase several rings to clean it up.  I ended up with a Heartwood back before I was successful.  This is my first attempt at an hld.  It has a natural reflex coming off the handle in both directions, but not enough that I tried to correct it.  After it was shooting, my daughter put it through her rigorous inspection and determined that it was nearly acceptable.  She went on to say that she was quite confident that it would be fully acceptable if I would only fancy it up a bit.  So...I glued on my last copperhead pattern cloth strip and finished it up with spar urethane.  It's 60" NTN 30#@26".  There is no one here to do a full draw pic so maybe later on that

Offline Josh B

Re: Red elm hollow limb design. 30#@26"
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2019, 01:22:37 pm »
Couple more pics

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2019, 01:52:25 pm »
thats pretty! FD pics soon?
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline bassman

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2019, 08:01:21 pm »
Nice.

Offline redhillwoods

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2019, 08:20:52 pm »
It looks beautiful. I look forward to the full draw pics,

Offline DLH

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2019, 11:27:49 pm »
I really like this bow those hollow limbs look wild. You have been on a rampage with bows lately. What do you feel the benefit of hollow limbs are? Did you use a gouge to hollow the limbs?

Daniel

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2019, 11:45:26 pm »