Author Topic: How do I make arrows?  (Read 2886 times)

Offline Kovoc

• I live in Nova Scotia, Canada
How do I make arrows?
« on: October 13, 2019, 08:30:56 pm »
I'm really new to the hobby (if you could say I do the hobby I dont evennnave a bow yet) and I want to start making some arrows now. What local materials could I use and what do I need (I have a source of feathers)? Oh and I live in a part of Canada called Nova Scotia so if possible could you find stuff I can find arounde here?  ;D

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
Re: How do I make arrows?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2019, 08:34:01 pm »
Whats your target bow weight? you have to spine your arrows correctly to your bow. for a 45# bow you need a arrow spined to 45#. that's the basics anyway. you will probably need to wait till your bows done to match the arrows to your bow.

you can order shafts from TSA. You would need to PM them or call them. If you want to make them on your own you can use shoots, or boards. people can explain this way better than me so ill let them do it.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2019, 08:53:22 pm by Deerhunter21 »
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Kovoc

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2019, 08:56:14 pm »
Oh I didnt know that, I thought arrows were a one-size fits all

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2019, 09:03:41 pm »
yeah so did I! its really rewarding though and I feel like its fun.

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php?topic=62991.0
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline jeffp51

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2019, 09:26:16 pm »
Kovoc,