Author Topic: Tonkin River Reed vs. River Cane.  (Read 6954 times)

Offline Todd Mathis

Tonkin River Reed vs. River Cane.
« on: October 17, 2019, 09:16:31 pm »
The bamboo I have always dealt with is from china, and it is from the Tonkin River Valley, and as you can see, it is quite different from the river cane photo that DC posted.  (thanks DC)  I am a professional arrow maker and all I do is Bamboo.  Apparently, what I have been using is a different thing entirely.  Happy to answer any questions about bamboo, but I can't speak to river cane.  Best to all, and I'm looking forward to some great discussions.  If you want to see what the Tonkin River Bamboo (some call it the Tonkin River Reed) here is a photo.  You can see why I was surprised by the look of river cane such as DC uses.  Best to all, and just so you know...I'm new to this.

Offline Todd Mathis

Re: Tonkin River Reed vs. River Cane.
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2019, 09:21:12 pm »
Just so you know, there is JUNK bamboo and good stuff.  But the nodes tend to be small and grow inward.  Much respect to folks who can deal with those prominent nodes on the river cane!!!  I'm too lazy I suppose....

Offline sleek

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2019, 07:20:39 am »
So, I'm a bamboo fan, love it! My question for you is how closely do you match the spine of the arrows in a batch of 12?
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2019, 12:35:52 pm »