Author Topic: My 1st Finished and Shootable Shortbow.  (Read 2980 times)

Offline IrishJay

My 1st Finished and Shootable Shortbow.
« on: November 06, 2019, 05:48:12 pm »
This piece of wood came from the Sassafras slab in my Wood ID thread (http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,66772.0.html)
When I cut the slab up I got one nice wide stave, one slightly narrower but still decent stave and a little skinny cutoff that I really didn't think had a bow in it.

Since I've never worked with Sassafras before I decide to play around with the skinny cutoff to get a feel for this wood before committing to a design or making any cuts on the better staves.

This wood really suprised me, because with a simple linen back I got it drawing 27# @31" on a 49" ntn bow. It took 2" of set, and its not a terribly fast shooter, but it gives me a lot of confidence in what a better stave will be capable of.

Toasted belly, 49" ntn, bendy handle finished with steel wool/vinegar stain and tung oil.

"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline upstatenybowyer

Re: My 1st Finished and Shootable Shortbow.
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2019, 06:53:49 pm »
The braced pic looks very nice. Let's see a FD when you get the chance.  :)
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline IrishJay

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2019, 07:39:11 pm »
I will when my wife gets home. When I posted it was just me and the 2 year old. She doesn't have the arm length for a 31" draw and shes a shakey photographer😜
"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline sleek

« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2019, 08:47:45 pm »