Author Topic: Linen string break  (Read 3882 times)

Black Moshannon

Linen string break
« on: November 20, 2019, 02:08:44 pm »
I had a new linen string break today at release. It broke at the timber hitch knot on the bottom nock. The bow is a 66" 58 pound black locust D bow with 1 inch of string follow. This is my first time using linen for bowstrings, previously I used Dacron B-50... I always made a flemish twist string with the loop on the top nock and just used a timber hitch on the bottom, which is what I did with the linen. The linen is 7 strand from pyrosupplies and had six plies in the string. The string lasted a few shooting sessions. I'm thinking I will have to make a regular flemish twist loop at the bottom nock as well, and perhaps use 8 plies in the string. The string is listed as having a strength of 48 pounds. I ordered some 38 pound six strand string from Pyrosuppies which is supposed to be higher quality, according to the website. I am also going to try to find a source of Barbour linen thread, which I heard is best quality. Anyone have any thoughts on the timber hitch knot and flax thread?

Offline Eric Garza

Re: Linen string break
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2019, 02:11:35 pm »
String from Pyrosupplies used to be good. Not so much anymore. The last batch I bought from them was too inconsistent to use to make bow strings.

Black Moshannon

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2019, 02:32:00 pm »
I found out that Coats now makes Barbour linen string. So far the only places Ive found are big shoe or leather supply companies that do not give a price online but will give a quote.

Black Moshannon

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2019, 03:28:05 pm »
Cambell-Randall Machinery in Texas sells Coats/Barbours linen thread in many different strand counts. I ordered a one pound spool of five strand. Hopefully it’s the answer.

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2019, 04:00:14 pm »