Author Topic: Because trial and error sucks 😂😂  (Read 1774 times)

Offline KidNicky

Because trial and error sucks 😂😂
« on: December 20, 2019, 07:24:10 am »
Hey everyone 🙂 It's nice to meet you all. I'm new to the bow and archery game, I have a lot of different ideas that I wanna run with. I've done a lot of reading, almost ready to dive in, but there's some key knowledge that I just don't have, and it's wood related 🙂

What I'm trying to learn right now is which part of what tree is best used for making a bow. Some of them have hit the level of common knowledge; i.e. Osage=heartwood, white oak=sapwood. I've been searching the internet, and I can't find a definitive list anywhere that lets me know what's best for what. I'd really appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance ☺

Nick

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Because trial and error sucks 😂😂
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 07:52:54 am »
Welcome, Nick. I think you should get the award for the best thread title.  :OK
Any wood from any part of a tree will make a bow. You just have to design your bow to take advantage of the positive characteristics of that particular wood.
 One group of terminology that might confuse beginners is whitewood. I consider whitewood as any wood other than osage, locust, mulberry and possibly others. With these woods generally you use only the heartwood although the sapwood works too. With most other woods in most cases you use the wood right under the bark for bow building. The actual color of the wood used doesn't necessarily reflect this designation.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

bownarra

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 08:38:31 am »