Author Topic: Red elm heartwood or sap wood?  (Read 1605 times)

Offline liyeliye123123

Red elm heartwood or sap wood?
« on: January 25, 2020, 10:12:01 am »
Hi guys.

I ve never used red elm before. Do I use the heartwood or the sapwood and do I need to chase a ring like Osage?

Thank you! 

Li
Wildpeace Archery.

Offline IrishJay

Re: Red elm heartwood or sap wood?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2020, 10:49:21 am »
I'm far from an expert, but I'm working on my second elm bow now. I used the ring directly beneath the bark for the back on both. The finished bow is shooting very well, 42# @28" about 54" ntn. Quick little bow.
"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline sleek

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2020, 10:50:04 am »
I've never had luck with red elm, it always took 3 inches of set even at 2 inches wide. I only used heart wood though, per9you should keep sap on the back.

That being said, I have seen some red elm bows on here that were nice, so perhaps the tree I had was just not a good tree.
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2020, 12:15:08 pm »
Like Jay, I use the sapwood right under the bark for a selfbow. I've made a few elm bows and was very impressed with it as a bow wood. Elm does do well with heat treated belly.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline IrishJay

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2020, 12:22:53 pm »
+1 on the heat treat Pat. It also takes heat shaping (I use wet heat) very well.
"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline sleek

« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2020, 12:42:33 pm »