Author Topic: Wood bow speed v.s Fibreglass bow speed?  (Read 3802 times)

Offline mmattockx

Wood bow speed v.s Fibreglass bow speed?
« on: March 18, 2020, 01:21:04 pm »
It seems that wood bows can be just as fast as laminated fibreglass (or carbon fibre) bows when done properly. I can accept that fact, but I am curious about it. I am an engineer and have a solid grasp of structural design along with mechanics of materials and find this pretty surprising, considering the material property advantages that fibreglass and carbon fibre have over the various bow woods.

Can someone explain the details of how this is possible?

Thanks,
Mark

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Wood bow speed v.s Fibreglass bow speed?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2020, 01:25:55 pm »
My opinion? Its very possible, but rarely happens as often as we hear it about it. I own 45-50 bows from self, to glass to all wood/boo laminated. Nothing holds a candle to a well built glass recurve. Its clear as a bell when you shoot it next to a self bow of equal draw weight arrow after arrow. 
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

bownarra

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2020, 01:55:46 pm »
By optimizing the design for the materials you are using.....usually through a whole lot of trial and error! My fastest glass/carbon bows are around 192fps @ 10gpp. My best hornbows are about the same. I know which I prefer making that's for sure!
A lot of glass bows I've actually tested are pretty poor performers but they will do it indefinitely. Neither glass nor carbon excel in compression.

Offline willie

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2020, 04:55:35 pm »
By optimizing the design for the materials you are using.
that and using the best possible materials utilizing the best possible craftsmanship, etc

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2020, 06:49:40 pm »