Author Topic: Bug damaged hickory  (Read 1088 times)

Offline Wolfmanjack

Bug damaged hickory
« on: April 08, 2020, 02:00:10 pm »
I cut a small hickory down in September, sealed the ends, left it whole with bark on and put up in my shed.  Now I’m fairly new at this so be gentle.  It looks like they kind of burrow through the cambium but I can’t tell if they violate the back.  I don’t want to waste a bunch of time debarking this thing if it’s worthless.  It was a bit of a bear to split already.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Bug damaged hickory
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 03:28:36 pm »
Looks to me like they got in beyond the cambium. I probably wouldn't spend time on it, but I also have plenty of options. So, its easy for me to say burn it.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2020, 04:02:43 pm »
Wolfmanjack......Unfortunately that does'nt look too good.Hickory is susceptable to many things if not prepared properly to store.Post hole bugs making a very deep and very small hole and bacteria to name a couple.Above all else never store it touching the ground anywhere.
If you got more growing around there give it another try.It is very good bow wood IMO.When cut this time of year early spring the bark will pop off very easily.Then reduce it to stave size of 2" wide by 1.5" thick and date it.Shellack the back and ends and let it season up off the ground in your shed.Some pics.
Bark popped off

Reduced to stave size
« Last Edit: April 08, 2020, 06:40:18 pm by BowEd »
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline Wolfmanjack

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2020, 04:18:23 pm »