Author Topic: Beginner questions hope to not bug everyone.  (Read 2919 times)

Offline Stonewall3636

Beginner questions hope to not bug everyone.
« on: April 09, 2020, 12:09:04 am »
Been thinking about make a traditional bow and arrow for awhile.  Then my nephew decided he would bet me a hundred to kill the first any whitetail with equipment made completely by themselves.  That being said I am very proficient at wood work as I was a trim carpenter for several years. I am pretty confident I can make a quality product. Okay insert vague questions here.
1.  What type of bow should I be looking at making out of an ash stave.
2.  What poundage should I be shooting for?  Would think i would want to shoot less then compound to hold it.  I normally shoot 75# compound but that has 80% let off. I way 280.
3.  What length?  I am 6ft and normally draw 28" bow
4.  Is not this season but next season a likely goal?  I can shoot daily after bow is made.  Hoping to have it done in 4 weeks start to finish and with arrows made.
5.  Are red osier dogwood shaft easy enough for a beginner to build?  How good of an arrow can you make out of them?
Would I be happier with a different medium for the arrows or are these good enough.  Apparently have an awesome supply of them now that I know what I am looking at.  I know a lot of people use them.  Wasnt sure if it was, because of the supply or the quality of the end product.
Enjoyed this forum as a quest for awhile now.  Knowledge is power. You all have a blessed day and stay safe out there.
Thanks Stonewall

Offline Strelets

Re: Beginner questions hope to not bug everyone.
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2020, 04:17:00 am »