Author Topic: more quarantine arrows  (Read 2612 times)

Offline jeffp51

more quarantine arrows
« on: April 27, 2020, 04:09:59 pm »
I have been making a lot of arrows lately.  From left to right these are bamboo, river cane or hill cane (I got the shafts from Mullet, so maybe he can say which) apple, and red osier dogwood.  My wife says the two-toned ones on the right are too pretty to shoot.  I said it's performance art.  It's nice when they shoot straight.

Offline rhansen

Re: more quarantine arrows
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 05:41:22 pm »
Outstanding arrows, they should fly& hunt well.  I've got a stash of red osier/dogwood that I've collected while on quarantine.  Can you tell me how long you dry them before you shoot them?
Thanks, Rick

Offline rhansen

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2020, 05:42:49 pm »
I should have said, this is my first attempt with red osier/dogwood.

Offline jeffp51

« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2020, 07:03:14 pm »
Longer is better, or they won't want to stay straight, but it depends on how dry it is.  For me, when the bark starts to wrinkle and go dark, they should be good.  Also, when I hit two together and hear a sharp, musical ringing sound instead of the dull clunk they make when they are green, then you can tell they are ready.  If you put them in the back window of a car, you can probably get them there in a month, easy.  Straighten them every few weeks while they are green, and bundle them tight, and it will make your job easier when it is time to do the final work.

Offline rhansen

« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2020, 07:09:46 pm »
Thank you that answers my questions!!  I should be all set for this fall's deer season!

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2020, 11:54:06 pm »
Nice arrows!  Shafts do cure well in this region - it's dry in a heavy rainstorm >:D (lol)(arrow making emoji!). Looking good, Jeff!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline Todd Mathis