Author Topic: Trapping  (Read 4374 times)

Offline DC

Trapping
« on: September 12, 2020, 01:14:42 pm »
I'm new to trapping. Do I trap the bow as soon as possible, like along with shaping the front profile? Or is it OK to do it later? Do you lose much DW when you trap, like is it too late to trap if you've only got 5# to go?

Offline Selfbowman

Re: Trapping
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2020, 02:27:18 pm »
All good questions DC. If m in your boat an need info. Arvin
Well I'll say!!  Osage is king!!

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2020, 03:11:53 pm »
I like to trap as I'm building. Trapping later will reduce draw weight some but can also change tiller. The purpose for trapping is to give advantage to a weakness, ie. to decrease tension in a weaker compression wood like with hickory. Hickory is very strong in tension but a little weak in compression so by narrowing the tension strong back you relieve the stress on the compression side. I think with wood bows you only reduce the back width while trapping and it is for practical reason. In glass bows it can go both ways but only for aesthetic reasons.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2020, 03:59:37 pm »
It does look kinda cool. I've done it now and I'm just about to brace.

Offline Morgan

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2020, 05:14:06 pm »
I’ve wondered the same thing. I have read a lot about people trapping backs on bows to lessen the tension of the back. If this works, then how is trapping a good thing and high crown a bad thing? Haven’t been able to wrap my head around that.

Offline DC

« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2020, 05:19:39 pm »