Author Topic: New bowyer, new here, lots of questions.  (Read 2097 times)

Offline BoisBrule

New bowyer, new here, lots of questions.
« on: September 22, 2020, 10:21:27 am »
Hello, from Canada.

I'm new to making bows, but enjoying it greatly. Started with board bows, but moving into cutting my own staves, and making the best bows I can out of local woods...

That said, local hardwood (if I limit myself to native woods) is pretty much limited to Paper Birch. Black spruce, white spruce, jack pine, tamarack, trembling aspen round out the rest, with some small chokecherry and pincherry (both grow to great sizes for walking/hiking sticks, but no larger. Arrows, perhaps?)in the mix. I live in a region that gets extremely cold, & has very long winters.

Every birch tree I have cut is twisted badly (>90 degrees over 6 linear feet, last one I cut was almost 180 degrees over 6 feet) I have yet to find a single one that isn't. All the elders I speak to (use birch for snowshoe frames), both here and back home (even farther north) say that they usually find 1 in 10 birch that are useful for them.

So I am leaning towards... black spruce. Backed with sinew most likely, possibly rawhide, and cut from compression wood (easy to find here). Wide limbed, as long as is reasonable, are my thoughts. Pyramid or flatbow in design.

But I have some questions about using compression wood. I can find leaning trees growing all over the hillsides on my property, but the trees that are really catching my eye, are the "plow wind survivor" trees... trees that have been almost entirely toppled, but have survived and are now growing in hard upper-case "J" shapes. But, I may be overthinking this, so bear with me. If I am, feel free to tell me so.