Author Topic: Various natural shoots arrow material, where it grows, how to ID them all.  (Read 4978 times)

Offline ssrhythm

Howdy.  So, I'm relatively new to primitive archery building and hunting...started making stuff to hunt with 2 years ago, and this is my first year hunting with equipment I built.  As far as arrows go, I'm making rivercane arrows from a batch of cane I cut while visiting SC where I grew up.  I vastly underestimated the number of pieces I needed to cut to end up with an adequate amount of suitable shafts.  I ended up with 20 or so shafts that, depending on point weight, would tune well to my bow.  So, now I am trying to figure out what all I have around me and can find in places I visit annually that I can make arrows out of.  I'm currently living in SE Wyoming.  I have a couple of shrubs in my front yard (rental) that I think are vibernum...they have growth that looks like they will make arrows, and I am going to cut some next year (need to grow a bit longer).  I will post pics to see if someone can ID the bushes.

That said, I visit SC at least annually, and I visit my buddy in the mountains and my family in the midlands.  The cane I cut was from midlands riverbottom.  I've read that there are three varieties of rivercane and the "hill-cane" is the best for arrows.  How, other than location, can I identify the hill variety?  Do I need to be spending more time looking for and harvesting cane when I'm in the mountains vs going after the midlands cane?  I found that the midland cane had more severe nodal angles that were prone to failure when trying to get them straight.