Author Topic: Deer Hide and Sinew Harvesting  (Read 3539 times)

Offline mmattockx

Deer Hide and Sinew Harvesting
« on: October 27, 2020, 09:41:17 am »
A couple rookie questions on saving deer hide and harvesting sinew. I have rifle hunted since 2009 and shot/gutted/skinned/butchered a few dozen deer in that time but I have never kept the hide or wanted to harvest the sinew.

1) Any tips or tricks on what to do with the hide to get the best possible rawhide results? I assume the goal is to get as much as possible off in one piece?
2) I am a complete novice with sinew, can anybody point to a video, thread or article(s) on what I want to keep and the best manner to get it off the animal?

Thanks,
Mark

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Deer Hide and Sinew Harvesting
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2020, 09:57:56 am »
For the hides, stretch them down, flesh side up and scrape the fat and meat off and let them dry. I staple them to a sheet of plywood or string them on a frame. This will preserve them until you are ready to make usable rawhide. If you are only dealing with 1 or 2 you could go ahead and slip the hair off then tack them down to dry.
 Have you searched in out How To section for harvesting sinews?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Fox

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2020, 10:03:08 am »
And as much as possible, pull the hide of !!! Instead of cutting it off.. and yeah what pat said...

-Fox
Why must we make simple things so complicated?

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2020, 10:57:08 am »
Have you searched in out How To section for harvesting sinews?

I have but the search function is very poor and have only found posts from 2009 or older with missing pictures due to the photobucket incident.

Mark

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2020, 11:26:34 am »
Try YouTube
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

gutpile