Author Topic: My Cherrybark experience  (Read 4921 times)

Offline simk

My Cherrybark experience
« on: April 28, 2021, 04:32:42 pm »
Hey Guys

I had to trim a cherry tree which gave me the opportunity to harvest some cherry bark. I have never done this before and had no plan. After a little experimenting I found a way...
Cut the bark and cambium with a sharp knife.
Peeled the whole bark incl. cambium with a dull knife.
After that it was quite easy to separate the outer bark from the cambium.

I have now a bunch of that stuff. It's around 0.2 to 0.3mm thin.

Anybody has done this? What do you think about the result?

Do you use bark only from very young branches or also from older ones or even trunks?

I'm planning to back bows with...for decoration and for protecting sinew. Any tips for me? Which direction should I lay it down on the bow?

Cheers
--- the queen rules ----

Offline AndrewS

Re: My Cherrybark experience
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2021, 04:53:32 pm »
The direction is around the tree. From older and thicker trees you get longer strips.
If the tree was harvested three or four months ago, then it is easier to peel off the bark.
The dried bark is good to work with a scraper.
When the outside is polished it gets a dark red sheen with various silver shimmers.
In an old Primitive Archer magazine is an article by Grayson wrapping an Ainu quiver with cherry bark. There is also a description of how he makes one long strip from many strips of cherry bark.
Cherry bark as a handle wrap or even as backing looks great. I have it on a few bows.
As a model I had the cherry bark backings of John Strunk.

Offline simk

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2021, 05:11:30 pm »
Thanx Andrew  :)

You maybe misunderstood my question: I'm not asking which direction to peel off the bark but which direction I glue it on the back...? My intention is to glue little overlapping parallel strips around the the bow as seen with birchbark with hornbows.