Author Topic: Looking for staves  (Read 3597 times)

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
Looking for staves
« on: February 12, 2021, 03:07:47 pm »
I am in search of a few good, clean staves for making wide-ish (at least 2 1/2") and long-ish (at least 66") bows.  Hickory or similarly idiot-proof woods preferred, as I am just learning the art of tillering and need the practice.  I don't have a lot to trade, just some wild turkey feathers (I'd be happy to strip them for you), original music CDs (my stuff isn't awful, I almost promise), a bit of bear grease to barter.  I could part with some $$ if you want to PM me about it.

Thanks--
Thomas
Thomas
Lander, Wyoming
"The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.
Travel too fast, and you miss all you are traveling for."
~Louis L'Amour

Offline Hawkdancer

Re: Looking for staves
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2021, 02:21:01 am »
Thomas,
Want to risk life and limb with a devil crabapple stave >:D!  I am down to some one of each and not sure which to go for next. Btw, I am thinking of maybe a weekend bow gathering, maybe in mid June.
Real small gathering, bring food, we got water maybe, if we have at our place - dry camp if we have at our friend's farm.  Of course, that is very tentative depending on covid-19, and Little Fiddle Woman's approval.  Wives, Kids, and dogs welcome!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2021, 11:09:55 am »
Hey, Jerry.  I'm not to into devil staves at the moment; just trying to find some good, solid ones so I can get the hand of tillering before I move on to greater challenges.

Keep in touch about your gathering.  You're in northern Colorado, right?  Might be a fun road trip.
Thomas
Lander, Wyoming
~Louis L'Amour

gutpile

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2021, 11:43:01 am »