Author Topic: ID maybe?  (Read 2089 times)

Offline Allyn T

• I'm addicted to information
ID maybe?
« on: March 23, 2021, 09:16:52 am »
I found this on a job site yesterday(I find a lot of chert on job sites) I live in east central missouri so we have a lot of burlington chert. This looks like it has a purple-ish blue-ish color and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas what it is. I'm very new to knapping but I think it'll make some good points if I don't mess it up

In the woods I find my peace

Offline Patches

Re: ID maybe?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2021, 10:15:26 am »
Yes that is Burlington.  It has a wide variety of quality and color in central Missouri.  That looks like the lower quality chert that I have found in the Marshall/Columbia area. 

Where about in Central Missouri are you located?  I am in Warrensburg, in west central Mo.  Have you ever been to MoJam? 

Neal 
"You are never a complete failure as long as you can be used as a bad example..."

Offline Allyn T

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2021, 10:37:01 am »
I'm about 45 min west of st.louis in O'Fallon MO. I haven't, I wanted to go last year but it was canceled. If it happens this year I hope I can make it down for at least a day
« Last Edit: March 23, 2021, 10:45:06 am by Allyn T »

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2021, 12:53:52 am »
Be looking to meet you both there this year!  Might even have to bring some rocks home!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline Allyn T

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2021, 03:24:50 pm »
It would be nice to put some faces to names on here hawk

Offline Patches

« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2021, 03:53:22 pm »