Author Topic: Help - What did I do wrong reflexing tips?  (Read 2424 times)

Offline Jon_W

Help - What did I do wrong reflexing tips?
« on: April 11, 2021, 05:03:19 pm »
So here was my process that lead to this fail: I got the bow partially tillered and bending quite a bit. Then, since the wood is HHB I decided to do an initial heat treat of the belly. After I did both limbs I tried to reflex them the same day (which is where I think I went wrong). The limb that cracked had a lot of character in it so I am wondering if that had do with it too (the top limb in the side profile picture). I used dry heat to try and reflex the tips but I felt like it might have been getting too hot too. Pretty heartbreaking little *pop* but I sawed of the tips and am going to make a short and light rabbit bow out of it or something. This was my first bow attempt so I am an absolute novice. Thanks!
"So long as the new moon returns in heaven a bent, beautiful bow, so long will the fascination of archery keep hold in the hearts of men"   ~ Maurice Thompson

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Help - What did I do wrong reflexing tips?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2021, 05:36:27 pm »
I have better success boiling for a bend like that,,

Offline PatM

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2021, 07:36:38 pm »
You're asking for too much bend with the wrong method of heating the wood.

Offline scp

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2021, 08:39:16 pm »
There is no need to reflex or recurve the bow, especially for a novice. If necessary, it would be a lot easier to reflex the whole working limbs while heat treating the belly mildly, than trying to recurve the tips using dry heat.

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2021, 08:59:41 am »
Recurving is a neat process to learn, you have to start somewhere, we have all cracked a few.