Author Topic: working into a heavier bow,,  (Read 7884 times)

Offline bradsmith2010

working into a heavier bow,,
« on: May 20, 2021, 12:40:21 am »
  i was pretty out of shape a few months ago,, didnt realize how little I had practiced the last year,, so my elk bow was too heavy for me,, i started shooting and was so rusty I didnt know if I could work back into it again,, Im 67 and thought I might have to drop some weight,, the first few weeks shooting it, was tough,,I couldnt feel much progress but I decided to just stick with it,,we were sharing pics of our shots,, and mine were so bad I almost didnt show them, but decided i needed the reality check to get better,, and after a few weeks it started to come together,
   Im gonna tell you what I did and how I practiced to get back in shape,,now the bow feels perfect for me and Im glad I did,,but basically I shot a little every day,, and tried not to overdo it or expect to much too fast,,after 3 months of practice every day, I have my accuracy as good as ever and feel confident if I get in shape on the mountain I can execute a good shot when I need to,,
  let me give this some more thought and I will start at the very rusty beginning of my process,, which I feel would work for anyone wanting to shoot a bow a bit heavier,, :)

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: working into a heavier bow,,
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2021, 02:28:56 pm »
 the first thing is not to get impatient,, progress with a bow can take days or weeks or months, and be slow,,you just have to keep working and make a little progress at a time,,
  when I started back with my elk bow, I put a piece of tape at 28 inches of draw so I would know I was drawing the bow consistantly,,I shot so many different bows this year I needed that for a guide,,
   I would pull the bow to full draw looking at the tape then aim and shoot,, and not so well I may add,,sometimes i would hit where I was looking and it seemed like an accident, but,,, the accicents got more consistant,,