Author Topic: Are we cruel?  (Read 11083 times)

Offline boomhowzer

Are we cruel?
« on: June 08, 2021, 11:46:34 am »
I didn't grow up hunting and I'm pretty new to hunting in general, so its hard to understand the moral and ethical questions that come up when you're talking with people about it. I guess I don't really have a framework to go on because I didn't grow up thinking about it and arguing with people over it, so now I like to talk to experienced hunters about their opinions and ethics.

I was talking to my neighbor the other day, he's been hunting in our area his entire life, mostly gun, but sometimes with a crossbow during archery deer season, and he told me point blank that going out into the woods with homemade archery tackle intending to kill an animal is downright cruel. His argument was that a homemade bow can't be shot accurately enough and with enough force to cleanly kill an animal.

I patently disagree for a variety of reasons, but those are my reasons. I want to know what you guys/gals reasons are. Or maybe you agree with him in some way and want to share that as well?
Bellaire, MI

Offline Yooper Bowyer

• formerly Tradcraftsman
Re: Are we cruel?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2021, 11:53:53 am »
Show him what your weapon can do, maybe he just doesn't appreciate it's lethality.  His broadheads probably do take a lot more power than yours, A razor sharp two bladed broadhead takes very little force.  There was an article about this some time back in PA, 'Broadhead Smoke and Mirrors'  I forgot who wrote it or when it was published. 

Offline Parnell

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2021, 01:34:18 pm »
I’d say it’s a good thing to question.  My perspective?